JOIN US FOR… ’24/’25 auditions!

Note that auditions dates below are tentative and may shift slightly; be sure to confirm audition dates and times in the official audition notices. Notices are posted here approximately 4-6 weeks prior to the audition dates.

 

THE ROCKY HORROR SHOW Auditions:

Saturday, June 29, 12-4pm and Sunday, June 30, 6-9pm;

Callbacks Monday, July 1, 6-10pm

A YEAR WITH FROG AND TOAD TYA Auditions:

Saturday, August 24 and Sunday August 25, 12-3pm; Callbacks Monday August 26, 6-9pm (Note: These dates have shifted slightly from what was original posted)

CATS Auditions:

Friday, September 6, 5-9pm and Saturday, September 7, 12-4 pm;

Callbacks Wednesday, September 11, 6-10pm

THE 39 STEPS Auditions:

Friday, October 25, 6-9pm and Saturday, October 26, 4-8 pm;

Callbacks Monday, October 28 6-10pm

CAMP ROCK Auditions:

Friday, January 3, 6-9pm and Saturday, January 4, 12-4 pm;

Callbacks Monday, January 6, 6-9pm 

THE COLOR PURPLE Auditions:

Friday, February 7, 6-9pm and Saturday, February 8, 4-8pm;

Callbacks Monday, February 10, 6-10pm

TEN FOR ALL Auditions:

To be announced in 2025

WAITRESS Auditions:

Friday, February 21, 6-9pm and Saturday, February 22, 12-4pm;

Callbacks Monday, February 24, 6-10pm

Learn more about the ’24/’25 season at Grand Rapids Civic Theatre:

Auditioning for a Show…

Is there a place for me?

Grand Rapids Civic Theatre is a community theatre, which means that all the actors who perform on our stage are a collection of individuals from West Michigan who have a talent and interest in theatre arts. Whether you’re a novice or a seasoned actor, you are welcome to audition at Civic! It’s not uncommon for newcomers to be the star of the show, or a part of the ensemble! On average, approximately 40% of Civic’s volunteer performers are new, either to our community or our theatre. GRCT welcomes all genders and non-conforming individuals, all races and ethnicities, and artists of all ages. With each season offering a variety of musicals and plays, we are excited to offer a little something for everyone.

Audition Notices

This page is your best resource for updated information regarding audition dates and times, casting needs, and rehearsal schedules. All sign-ups are done through SignUp Genius, which will be posted as they become available.

What to expect at an audition

Those planning to audition for a Play will be asked to read from the script. For Musical auditions, prepare 16 measures of a memorized song and bring sheet music that includes a piano accompaniment line. Musical auditions will also include a dance audition. For specific details on how to prepare and what to expect, the SignUp Genius page for each show will include an audition guide.

What to expect at a callback

Those that are asked to return for Play Callbacks will read from the script. Musical Callbacks consist of reading from the script, singing songs from the show, and learning additional dance choreography.

Audition Workshops AND CLASSES

Civic Theatre’s School of Theatre Arts offers workshops and classes designed to help you prepare specifically for an audition. Please check our current Education page for information and availability on upcoming classes.